Who is the NEBOSH General Certificate for?

Employers all over the world are recognising the importance of creating safe and healthy environments for people to work. And the NEBOSH General Certificate is designed to do just that. It teaches people how to manage risk and put the right systems in place to keep people safe.

NEBOSH General Certificate is not just for people who work in health and safety, it’s open to absolutely everyone. Thousands of learners from all types of backgrounds, at all different levels, in all types of industries take the course.

What type of workers take the NEBOSH General Certificate?

One of the many attractions of the NEBOSH General Certificate is that it’s a level-3 foundation qualification designed for beginners. So you don’t need any health and safety knowledge or experience to take the course.

In fact it’s this foundation approach that makes it so appealing to people. 70% of people who take the NEBOSH General Certificate are employed in jobs where health and safety isn’t even their main role. Everyone from front line workers to managers, to budding health and safety professionals take the course.

Typical learners include but not limited to:

  • Health and safety advisors/officers/engineers
  • General managers/supervisors
  • Operational managers
  • Engineering managers
  • Facility managers
  • Public service workers
  • HR personnel
  • Security workers

Why do people take the NEBOSH General Certificate?

Most people take the NEBOSH General Certificate for one reason – to get the skills and knowledge to protect people from life-changing injuries. Some people also take the course so they can improve their company’s performance and make sure they’re complying with the right regulation.

Others have ambitions of a career in health and safety and use it as the first step in their journey.  Research shows that most employers now request the NEBOSH General Certificate as a minimum requirement for health and safety roles.

It also provides the core knowledge needed to progress onto other qualifications, such as the NEBOSH Diploma, or specialist certificates such as the NEBOSH Construction Certificate or NEBOSH Fire Certificate.

National vs International

The NEBOSH General Certificate is available in two versions: national and international. You can learn all about the difference in our blog post here. But to summarise quickly, the main difference between the two is the application of legislation and regulation.

The NEBOSH National General Certificate is for those working within the UK and is based on UK legislation. It focuses on the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1971 and The Management of Health and Safety at Work Regulations 1999, as well as codes of practice and the criminal and civil prosecution process.

The NEBOSH International General Certificate is for those living and/or working outside of the UK. It’s based on best practice and international standards, such as the International Labour Organisation (ILO) codes of practice, and includes local laws and cultural factors when appropriate.

Get answers to your questions and help with choosing the right course for you & your team.

Horizon Risk Consultancy Ltd
3M Buckley Innovation Centre,
Firth Street, Huddersfield, HD1 3BD
Tel.: 01484 937 128
Email: info@horizonriskconsultancy.com

Guide to the NEBOSH General Certificate Unit NG2/IG2 Risk Assessment
Horizon Risk Consultancy Ltd welcoming Martin Kettlewell, E-learning Developer to the team